NPTEL, or the National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning, was established in 2003 as a partnership between the IITs and the IISC, with funding provided by the Indian Ministry of Education (MOE). NPTEL was first founded as a mission to bring high-quality education to all areas of the nation, and it presently provides around 600+ courses for certification each semester in about 22 fields.

Why should a learner do NPTEL online certification courses?

  • Enables the student to directly engage and learn from the best faculty in the country in that particular subject. This strengthens the fundamentals of the student in the course.
  • Gives the students the opportunities to explore new areas of interest – which are not possible in a regular college environment.
  • These courses also bring out the self-learning initiative of the students
  • The certificates issued bear the stamp of the institute offering the course and hence are valuable additions when the students apply for jobs.
  • Companies can also recruit from this pool of candidates with specialized skills.


SWAYAM is an initiative started by the Indian government with the aim of achieving the three guiding principles of education policy: access, equity, and excellence. The goal of this initiative is to make the best instructional materials available to everyone, particularly the most disadvantaged. For students who have thus far been left out of the digital revolution and unable to participate in the knowledge economy, SWAYAM aims to close the digital divide.
The SWAYAM courses are offered free of charge to the students, but if they want a SWAYAM certificate , they must sign up for the proctored exams that are required at the conclusion and take them in person at specific locations on certain times. Only those students who meet the requirements for the certificate will be awarded one, as they will be announced on the course page.
Nine National Coordinators have been selected in order to guarantee the creation and delivery of material of the highest calibre.
These are:

  • AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) for self-paced and international courses
  • NPTEL (National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning) for Engineering
  • UGC (University Grants Commission) for non technical post-graduation education
  • CEC (Consortium for Educational Communication) for under-graduate education
  • NCERT (National Council of Educational Research and Training) for school education
  • NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) for school education
  • IGNOU (Indira Gandhi National Open University) for out-of-school students
  • IIMB (Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore) for management studies
  • NITTTR (National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research) for Teacher Training programme
Student Support